Top Mud Sites Forum

Top Mud Sites Forum (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Appendix G: Lockwood (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6547)

AppendixG 08-17-2011 04:10 PM

Appendix G: Lockwood

Hello!

I'm Matt from Appendix G. We're a small group of people collaborating to make fun, story-driven independent games. Our current project is "Lockwood" a post-apocalyptic, western, fantasy and metafictional MUD.

I started playing MUDs way back when I was 14 or 15 years old, starting on one called Endless Nameless. A friend and I then starting putting together a very primitive game from modified ROM code. I took a break for several years and returned right about the time I started college.

Somewhere in the middle, I did some design work for a few larger social gaming companies and learned that I didn't want to do that for much longer. About that time, me and a friend started Appendix G and began work on our project.

I'm a big fan of literature (working at a bookstore ensured I was only partially sober all throughout college) and want to make and play games that challenge the player and present them with realistic and intensely deep source texts and anthropological histories; for the same reason that Dune is one of my favorite books, I suppose, because it so richly defines the history and culture of the worlds it contains that the reader can't help but feel like some small part of it.

I think MUDs provide an awesome opportunity for this kind of storytelling and narrative presentation and I hope that one day I can really bring something meaningful to the table.

We have a small blog set up that details the development of our MUD, for those interested: