Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Old 07-30-2010, 03:27 PM   #1
Gray

Gray is on a distinguished road
New to coding, trying something simple

Hey all. I'm a fairly new coder - my experience has been very limited, and my relevant courses taken many years ago. I recently lost my coder for the MUD I own, and I've been attempting to pick up the mantle on my own. Not just because there isn't anybody else, but because it sure is more empowering not to go through a second party every time I'd like to see a modification.

Basically what I'm trying to do is this, and I imagine it will be pretty simple: I'd like to make it so the tell command is logged, and the player can input a command to see, say, his last 20 tells - a tell history so to speak.

My trouble is having absolutely no clue how to go about that. I suppose I'm asking for advice or guidance on how to start and proceed. Even better, if there's a snippet around for a Diku base that does something like this (that has idiot-proof instructions?? Lol.) that would be even better.

Thanks very much in advance for any assistance given.

-G.
Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 12:03 AM   #2
Parhelion

Name: Sarah
Home MUD: Ethos
Parhelion is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Parhelion
Re: New to coding, trying something simple

What sort of codebase / language are you using?

Sometimes, you can find snippets that do something similar to what you want; while you want to make the feature on your own, you can use the code in these snippets as a starting template.