Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Old 10-15-2010, 02:39 PM   #1
dayrinni

dayrinni is on a distinguished road
MUD Development Journal

Hello,

I am Dayrinni. I code things. I am a programmer in “real life”. I work for a major tech company as a Java programmer/software engineer. I have decided to make a Java based MUD and tell you the tale. Hopefully, you guys will enjoy this.

Background

While in high school (over 10 years ago), I had big dreams to have my own MUD but I could not code. I tried to get some other people on the internet to work as coders. This usually ended up as a complete disaster. I have some good stories to tell, if anyone cares to hear. So in my first year of college in 2001 I decided it is time to try my hand at MUD programming. I grabbed a copy of fastrom and went to town. Many years later, the game A Tempest Season was born. This was a mildly successful MUD. But I ran into major personal issues and was forced to shut it down. Something I regret. Anyways, that is a different discussion.

Development

I usually do all of my projects in private and then release them when I am happy with the end product. I am going to do the complete opposite with this MUD. I will be posting updates on the game as I make them, which should be fairly consistent. In these posts I will talk about...well everything! The design, the reasoning behind what I did, the code, the story – you name, it'll be there. I shall continue to reply to this thread with updates.

I hope to get people involved by being in an open development environment. I am open to suggestions and feedback on what I have done. I may or may not take suggestions/feedback. If I do take anything major, I will ensure I place your name on a credits command within the game (if I forget anyone, please let me know).