Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > MUD Players and General Discussion > Introduce Yourself
Click here to Register

Old 12-26-2005, 08:04 AM   #1
DonathinFrye

Name: Donathin Frye
Home MUD: Optional Realities
Home MUD: Atonement RPI
Home MUD: Project Redshift
DonathinFrye is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to DonathinFrye
Hey everyone - my name's Don, as you could probably have guessed. I've been MUDing for 13 years, since I happened across oooldschool Gemstone on AOL. A couple years after I began, I took a liking to Player-Killing/PvP. Since that time I have ran "medium" sized MUDs, staffed over a dozen MUDs as a Builder/PvP Designer/Consultant, two sporting "large" playerbases(150+), and the rest being small-to-medium.

I have strong views on PvP - I enjoy complex systems that are well-balanced with many counters. I enjoy unique and challenging PvP systems, and strive to design those kinds. I have tried every very-large-sized MUD, testing them for PvP, and found most of their systems simply not challenging enough for my tastes (skill-wise, not equipment/stat preparation-wise). Aetolia was an except to this, I will admit. A few of my favorite PvP MUDs over the past decade have been; Everwar, Utopia: Type Final(amazing codebase for PvP), Northwinds(RIP), and Clandestine MUD, some of which I have staffed and/or aided in PvP design.

I've been banned from more SWRs and other small Smaug MUDs than I can remember(literally), for chasing off sections of their playerbase via "too-much-player-killing".

I'm finishing up my second major's thesis project at Penn State this year, which my advisor feels could likely be a publishable piece of writing on the subject of "Sociology Within Internet Communities".