Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Old 01-28-2015, 02:01 PM   #1
Seratone

Seratone is on a distinguished road
Help With MUD Design In C

Hi, I'm a beginner coder using C. I've managed to build a single player dungeon type game that I believe could be modified into a MUD at some point, but I'd like to see if I can organize things a little better.

Here is the basic lay out/structure for the game.

int e=1;
char exit1s[100];

while (e=1) //Each room operates on a while loop//

Room5:

{printf("\n\n ROOM DESCRIPTION EXIT S \n\n");

fgets (exit1s, 100, stdin);//Waits for command from player//

exit1s[strlen(exit1s)-1] = '\0';

if (strcasecmp(exit1s, "s") == 0)//If else statements allow for multiple commands for each room//

{printf("You start walking");
Sleep(500);
goto Room4;//Goto command is used to move between rooms.//

break;}

So here is my main question. Stacking up if else statements for each room is tedious. I'd like to add a "global command" that could work for every room. Any suggestions?
Seratone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 02:59 PM   #2
plamzi

Home MUD: bedlam.mudportal.com:9000
Home MUD: www.mudportal.com
plamzi is on a distinguished road
Re: Help With MUD Design In C

Hi there,

A beginner in C should probably start by looking at existing code, and it should probably be something a lot simpler than a MUD server.

There's probably an ABC of game design in C somewhere, whose very first example will show you the classic main loop. There's a reason it is a classic.

There's a very limited number of use cases in C where "goto" does more good than harm. This is not one of them.

Putting closures on their own line is best practice. It improves readability even more than not using "goto".