Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > MUD Players and General Discussion > Introduce Yourself
Click here to Register

Old 11-30-2011, 01:14 PM   #1
Spearman

Spearman is on a distinguished road
Hello everyone, looking for a good MUD

Hi folks, I recently started learning spear in my aikido class. I'm having a hell of a lot of fun with it, and I'm hoping to find a MUD where I can pvp effectively with a class that makes us of a spear. Any suggestions?
Spearman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
Ide

Ide will become famous soon enoughIde will become famous soon enough
Re: Hello everyone, looking for a good MUD

I don't think any PVP mud can match God Wars 2 for ranged combat.
Ide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:23 PM   #3
camlorn

camlorn is on a distinguished road

Hi,
The thing is, most muds have "spear" skills; that is, a weapon named spear. I've played many, however, and very few actually differentiate among weapons. In most, a spear is just another name for a sword; it might have more damage output and be slower, perhaps. That said, the requirement you've stated leaves this very, very wide open. By which I mean, just about any fantasy mud based off diku/rom, or any fantasy mud, for that matter.

So, a few reccomendations. Godwars 2 is probably the way to go if you want ranged combat; it's full pk, and uses a fighting game-like combat system. If you've played muds before, you have to throw everything you know out the window, and I do mean everything.

Another that has good pk, sometimes, is lost souls; this mud makes godwars 2 look like kindergarten, but pk doesn't happen that often. It is unbelieveably hard (think nethack hard), and death is actually far from the worst thing that can happen to you. O, and did I mention this is hard?