Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > MUD Players and General Discussion > Roleplaying and Storytelling
Click here to Register

Old 05-25-2005, 02:13 PM   #1
Brody
Legend

Home MUD: OtherSpace
Brody will become famous soon enoughBrody will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to Brody
Smile

Share your thoughts on the interaction of RP and coded systems. When does it work for you? When are the coded systems *intrusive* on RP? When does RP overwhelm coded systems? For this thread, I'd prefer that specific games go without mention and I'd like to avoid flames. Critiques of different types of systems and their benefits/shortcomings are welcome, however, and you can identify the game as a MUD/MUSH/MUX, etc.
Brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 02:52 PM   #2
Lisaera

Lisaera is on a distinguished road
Well, I'm an admin on a MUD so I would say in our case coded systems often overwhelm RP, at least for many of our players. This isn't to say that they can't work together, however, I think coded systems can be excellent tools to accentuate and enhance RP - and I think this is accomplished by choice.

By choice I mean adding in methods, be it player abilities, different options when choosing something that affects coded game elements, or just different paths to complete the same quests. An example of this would be in our MUD the player cities can choose a style of government, which affects the benefits they receive from their villages, but it also affects the titles of the ranks of the city. This means the way they choose in the coded system of government affects their RP by making it obvious to them and the rest of the game what style of city they are - despots or capitalists, for example!