Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > MUD Players and General Discussion > Newbie Help
Click here to Register

Old 08-27-2002, 12:32 PM   #1
Realedazed

Home MUD: Armageddon
Home MUD: Harshlands
Home MUD: DartMUD
Realedazed is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Realedazed Send a message via Yahoo to Realedazed
Unhappy

I'm kinda interested in working with MUDs. Like coding or building or whatever. This might sound like a dump question, but I'm like a total newbie when it comes to this side of MUDding. All I do I log on and play. So I have a few questions about the terms used:

I figure a coder works with the hard code or programming of a MUD? Am I right?

So, what exactly does a builder do?

What's the difference between the codebases? I never really took the time to see which type of codebase my favorite MUDs run on, so I can't really tell the difference between them.

Okay, that's basically it for now. Feel free to throw in any other info you might think is useful.

Thanks in advance
Realedazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2002, 01:04 PM   #2
Rjakegel

Rjakegel is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Rjakegel
Well, the coder does write/edit code for bug fixes and creating new code for new skills and such.
A builder creates the areas by writing room descriptions, writing mob descriptions and setting mob specs like difficulty and mprogs, and creates items like weapons and eq and food, etc.
Building is a lot easier than coding because it is more basic, and it would probably be easier for you to get a building job before you would become a coder for a MU*.
Rjakegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2002, 01:10 PM   #3
Brianna

Brianna is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Brianna Send a message via MSN to Brianna Send a message via Yahoo to Brianna
Brianna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2002, 06:44 PM   #4
Ingham