Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2009, 12:45 AM   #1
rhylin
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
rhylin is on a distinguished road
Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

I'm using this article here to walk me through the installation of VME:

Valhalla MUD&#169 Engine v2.0 Download

I understood everything until I hit the part that says:

Quote:
Add the profile.txt to your .profile or .bash_profile file depending on which one you use when you log on. You must do this even if upgrading from the older VME because the server.cfg variable has changed in the profile.
What the hell is it talking about??
rhylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:08 AM   #2
Shoie13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Shell
Home MUD: Star Wars: Galactic Insights
Posts: 46
Shoie13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Shoie13 Send a message via MSN to Shoie13 Send a message via Yahoo to Shoie13
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhylin View Post
I'm using this article here to walk me through the installation of VME:

Valhalla MUD&#169 Engine v2.0 Download

I understood everything until I hit the part that says:



What the hell is it talking about??
I don't run this or haven't tested it, but I downloaded it and looked, but I'm sure it wants you to take the contents of /doc/profile.txt and add it to your .profile or .bash_profile in your home directory.

Just copy the contents and use pico .bash_profile (or .profile) and paste it in there. If you're using the bash shell, it'll be in .bash_profile.
Shoie13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
rhylin
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
rhylin is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

I'm sorry, I forgot to mention that I'm using Cygwin on Vista! I don't have a home directory. I went to C:\Cygwin\etc\skel where there was a file called .bash_profile, and I added the text from profile.txt to it. Nothing happened when I tried to compile. I typed 'vmc *.zon' just like it said, and I got:

Quote:
bash: vmc: command not found
Any ideas?
rhylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 09:44 PM   #4
Baram
Member
 
Baram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seoul
Home MUD: Tears of Polaris
Posts: 218
Baram is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Cygwin... umm, don't use it? heh.

I'm not 100% on how it works, I haven't used Cygwin in something like 10 years, but from the terminal window you should start in the home directory (~ is normally in the prompt, at least for normal Linux). In there you should find a hidden file called .profile or .bash_profile (just use "ls -l .profile" or "ls -l .bash_profile" and if you see a file that's the right one). You can then just cat prolfile.txt >> .profile (or .bash_profile) and it should copy the contents over for you.

I'd suggest installing a true Linux as a second OS, or using a VM, as it's much easier to do it that way.
Baram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 01:07 AM   #5
Shoie13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Shell
Home MUD: Star Wars: Galactic Insights
Posts: 46
Shoie13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Shoie13 Send a message via MSN to Shoie13 Send a message via Yahoo to Shoie13
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Cygwin is not a second option to using an actual Linux OS, it's more of the last resort option. It has undesirable effects most of the time and is painful to configure and use. There are many good, free hosting options out there, and you can always install a free linux OS dualboot with your Windows or use Andlinux.
Shoie13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:33 AM   #6
rhylin
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
rhylin is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Alright, I'm finally caving. I got a Ubuntu virtual machine custom made for me and I'm gonna start using that instead. So far I love it!

Now let's see if I can compile VME...
rhylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 10:48 AM   #7
Baram
Member
 
Baram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seoul
Home MUD: Tears of Polaris
Posts: 218
Baram is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

There ya go! Years ago I used Fedora Core (FC3... that was a while ago) for my "server" and XP as my main. I moved over to Ubuntu on the server and then after maybe 6 months decided I was tired of XP constantly crashing and having to reboot, where Ubuntu hadn't gone down yet. So I made the switch, haven't regreted it yet (three years now).
Baram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 11:01 AM   #8
scandum
Senior Member
 
scandum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 308
scandum will become famous soon enough
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

You need to exit your terminal and open a new one for the updated .bash_profile to load.

There's probably a command to do it.
scandum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:49 AM   #9
rhylin
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
rhylin is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MUD Engine)?

Alright, been fiddling with Ubuntu but I can't seem to locate the .bash_profile file. I went into the home directory, hit ctrl+h to view hidden files, and it wasn't there. So I created it, opened it (not using terminal) and pasted the contents of profile.txt, saved it, exited terminal, re-opened terminal, and tried compiling VME with the 'vmc *.zon' command as stated in the guide. I got:

Quote:
bash: MUD: command not found
What now?
rhylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:03 PM   #10
scandum
Senior Member
 
scandum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 308
scandum will become famous soon enough
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Could be it uses .profile or .bashrc instead of .bash_profile

Regardless, you can use:

chmod 777 .bash_profile
./.bash_profile

That should execute .bash_profile and update whatever is in it.
scandum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:47 PM   #11
rhylin
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
rhylin is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

Nope, still not working!
I tried adding the contents of profile.txt to .profile, .bash_profile, and .bashrc, and using the code you told me to update them. Also tried restarting terminal, and restarting the OS.
It still won't compile!!
Any more ideas?
rhylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:50 AM   #12
Pymeus
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Home MUD: tharel.net
Posts: 36
Pymeus is on a distinguished road
Re: Help setting up VME (Valhalla MU Engine)?

It looks like 'vmc' is trying to run a program or script called 'MUD', and MUD either doesn't exist, isn't executable, or isn't where vmc expects to find it. The next step would be to figure out which of these three problems you've got.
Pymeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Style based on a design by Essilor
Copyright Top Mud Sites.com 2014