Top Mud Sites Forum

Top Mud Sites Forum (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/index.php)
-   Newbie Help (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Editors (http://www.topmudsites.com/forums/showthread.php?t=586)

Earthmother 09-02-2003 12:01 PM

Hello, i'm a complete newbie coder looking for an editor i can use on a Windows ME machine. I want to be able to FTP files to my mud, be able to line things up easily for uncluttered code, and be able to code off line.

I'm hoping there is one that's free and downloadable, but semi-expensive (30 to 50 US dollar) range and downloadable would be fine.

In fact, just some search engine "key word" suggestions would be quite helpful, i can do the legwork myself, if i knew what to ask for.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

--Earthmother

Brody 09-02-2003 12:23 PM

Your own post contains the keywords you can try on Google.com:

Windows MUD offline editor

Hephos 09-02-2003 01:38 PM

Nice editor, comes with cvs support too. Although i use it currently for Java programming i believe it can be used with c/c++ aswell.

Emil aka "Hephos"

Ingham 09-02-2003 06:24 PM

Windows ME, heh.

ScourgeX 09-02-2003 07:29 PM

I use "programmer's file editor" simply because it was the first free program I found that let me save files into *NIX format, although if you are willing to pay money I'm sure there is much better.

Pris 09-02-2003 08:25 PM

Textpad from is all you need. Everything else is just unecessarily confusing.

Unless, of course, you like unecessarily confusing.

Pris

Earthmother 09-04-2003 02:00 AM

All helpful suggestions! Thanks for the input, much obliged.

welcor 09-04-2003 06:24 PM

I use Ultraedit (, I believe). It has syntax highlighting (for C, java, html etc.), save to/load from ftp, multiple files open at once, format conversion (*nix <-> DOS <-> Mac), built in hex editor, macros and all the other stuff you may need.

Welcor of TBA.

Xerihae 09-11-2003 10:54 AM