Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Old 01-03-2006, 08:01 PM   #1
NealSilfer

NealSilfer is on a distinguished road
Hello, I have little knowledge of the different programming languages out there. However I plan to change this by attending my local college. I was curious to know about combining different languages together to form a MUD. Are there certain rules or something that I should know about? I am more specifically interested in the combining of Java and C++ to form a MUD. Please no preaching of why I should use Java or C++ because that is not even a definite in the development of my MUD. I have done enough research to believe that for the type of MUD I would like to design learning Java and C++ is the way I need to go. Thank you for you consideration.

Neal
NealSilfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:07 AM   #2
KaVir
Legend

Name: Richard
Home MUD: God Wars II
KaVir will become famous soon enoughKaVir will become famous soon enough
What research, out of interest?  I find it very difficult to see what advantage you might get from combining C++ and Java.  I could understand it if you wanted a C++ server and a Java client, and I can see the advantages of embedding a language like Python or Perl into a hardcoded engine.  But unless you've already got large amounts of both C++ and Java code that you want to avoid rewriting, or are creating the mud as a learning experience (eg to practice your COM skills) I can't see any reason why you'd want to build a codebase using both languages...

I'm not 'preaching', I'm just honestly curious.  It seems like a thoroughly bizarre design decision, and I'd be really interested to see what sort of research inspired it.
KaVir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 04:09 AM   #3
Kastagaar

Kastagaar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Kastagaar