Top Mud Sites Forum Return to TopMudSites.com
Go Back   Top Mud Sites Forum > Mud Development and Administration > MUD Coding
Click here to Register

Old 02-11-2003, 12:21 AM   #1
Terloch

Terloch is on a distinguished road
Has anyone out there figured out how to track a MAC address as well as the IP address of a socket? Or any sort of identifier from a NAT packet?

I'm having issues with certain players with lots of IP addresses and I would much rather just get rid of them by their MAC address but I don't even know if that's possible...

Drop me a personal note, or a response on here if you have done this, or have ideas on how it might be done...

Thanks,
Terloch
Terloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 07:56 AM   #2
Xerihae

Name: Chris
Xerihae will become famous soon enough
I'm no expert, and I can't explain the details, but I'm sure I once read a post from someone who asked a similar question. The repsonse seemed to be tha ISP's will NOT allow you to get a hold of MAC addresses, period. Someone wrote the code to do it then found out the ISP blocked it completely. I've no doubt someone else will be able to elaborate on this for you.
Xerihae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 08:45 AM   #3
Yui Unifex

Yui Unifex is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Yui Unifex Send a message via AIM to Yui Unifex
Question

The only uniquely identifiable information you can use is the IP address. MACs cannot be used to identify because dialup users would be able to change them as easily as they can change IPs, as the MAC they receive is the device they're connected to, not their own device. There are similar problems for other connections. The lookups to find these addresses are generally not routable, so they won't go across the internet. Even if all of these problems were surmounted, it's trivially easy to change the MAC address of your device.